LEC Announces 2017 Softball All-Conference Teams

LEC Announces 2017 Softball All-Conference Teams

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference announced its 2017 Softball All-Conference Teams and Major Awards as voted on by the eight LEC head coaches. For the first time in the history of LEC softball, there was a four-way tie for first place between Eastern Connecticut State, Plymouth State, Western Connecticut State and the eventual LEC tournament champions, UMass Boston.  

UMass Boston's sophomore catcher, Roxanne Vento was named the 2017 LEC Player of the Year following her dynamic season at the plate for the LEC champions Beacons. Vento becomes the first-ever Beacons softball student-athlete to win LEC Player of the Year honors. Vento dominated at the plate all season long as she led the Little East in six difference offensive categories, including a .440 batting average. Vento also led the conference with 55 hits, 18 doubles, 20 extra base-hits, 79 total bases and a .493 On-base-percentage. Vento, last season's rookie of the year, also finished second in the Little East with 39 runs-batted-in and placed fourth in the conference with a .632 slugging percentage. Vento's prowess at the plate and her ability to manage the Beacons' pitching staff, helped lead UMass Boston to its first-ever Little East Conference championship and a first-ever share of the 2017 regular season title.

UMass Boston's success is also attributed to the success the 2017 LEC Pitcher of the Year, Jess Greenspan had in the circle this season. Greenspan, a freshman from Rocky Hill, Conn. led the conference in fourth major pitching categories, including a conference best 19 wins. Greenspan also placed first among all LEC pitchers with 21 complete games, 174.2 innings pitched, three saves in 31 total appearances. Greenspan also finished second behind Keene State's Molly St. Germain (110) with 105 strikeouts on the season and placed inside the top-5 with a 2.32 earned-run-average. Greenspan recorded a save in the first game of the LEC championship to force a deciding game in which Greenspan tossed a completed game to secure the Beacons' first-ever LEC title. Greenspan becomes the first-ever Beacons' pitcher to be named LEC Pitcher of the Year.

Western Connecticut State's freshman Charline Plasczynski (Bristol, Conn.) was named the 2017 LEC Rookie of the Year, becoming the first Colonials' student-athlete to win the honor since Sarah Zaslaw won the award in 2001. Plasczynski led the Colonials in nearly every major offensive category in 2017 and was the Little East Conference RBI champion with 41 runs-batted-in. Plasczynski finished second in the Little East in slugging percentage (.670%) and placed third in the conference with five home runs as well as third in the among LEC student-athletes in on-base percentage (.477%). During the 2017 campaign, Plasczynski recorded 46 base hits and finished with a fourth-best batting average (.400) in the LEC. Plasczynski helped the Colonials gain a share of the Little East Conference regular season championship for the first time since 2003 when the Western Connecticut State finished 10-4 in LEC play.

For the second time in his career, Plymouth State's head coach Bruce Addison was named the 2017 LEC Coach of the Year by his peers. Addison and his Panthers finished with a 23-17-1 (8-6 LEC) record and was one of the four teams to claim a share of the 2017 Little East Conference regular season championship. Addison and the Panthers exceeded preseason expectations when the Panthers were selected to finish seventh of eight in the LEC Preseason Poll in which five programs earned first-place votes.


2017 Little East Conference Softball 

Offensive Player of the Year

Roxanne Vento, Sophomore, UMass Boston

Pitcher of the Year

Jess Greenspan, Freshman, UMass Boston

Rookie of the Year

Charline Plasczynski, Freshman, Western Connecticut

Coach of the Year

Bruce Addison, 14th year, Plymouth State 


All-Little East First Team

Pitcher                         Jess Greenspan           Fr.        UMass Boston

Pitcher                         Molly St. Germain      So.       Keene State   

Catcher                        Roxanne Vento           So.       UMass Boston

First Base                    Allison Pillar                Sr.        Southern Maine

Second Base               Kayla Votto                 Sr.        Keene State

Third Base                   Shae Crosby                Jr.        Keene State

Shortstop                    Mary Caron                 Gr.       Southern Maine

Outfield                       Brooke Cross               So.       Southern Maine

Outfield                       Cassidy Emerson         So.       Plymouth State

Outfield                       Nicole McSweeney     Fr.        UMass Dartmouth

Utility           Amber Kelly                Jr.        Southern Maine

Designated Player        Jenny Galavotti           Sr.        Keene State


All-Little East Second Team

Pitcher                         Madison Greene         Fr.        Southern Maine

Pitcher                         Hannah Smith             Jr.        UMass Dartmouth

Catcher                        Emma Simmons         So.       Rhode Island College

First Base                    Gina Georgetti                        Sr.        Eastern Connecticut

Second Base               Tori Dugan                  Jr.        Western Connecticut

Third Base                   Mel Goss                     So.       Plymouth State

Shortstop                    Charline Plasczynski    Fr.        Western Connecticut

Outfield                       Gia Raczkowski           Sr.        UMass Boston

Outfield                       Alexandra Lafemina   Sr.        Western Connecticut

Outfield                       Jessica Seymour         Jr.        Eastern Connecticut

Utility         Mel Goss                     So.       Plymouth State

Designated Player      Kristyn Ryan                Sr.        Eastern Connecticut