LEC Announces 2016 Field Hockey All-Conference & Major Awards

LEC Announces 2016 Field Hockey All-Conference & Major Awards

PAWTUCKET, R.I. – The Little East Conference has released the 2016 LEC Field Hockey All-Conference Teams and Major Award recipients as voted on by the league's 12 head coaches. The All-Conference teams consist of 19 student-athletes earning All-LEC honors for the first time.

The Offensive Player of the Year for the LEC is Keene State forward Sami Smith (Merrimack, N.H.). Smith becomes the third student-athlete to repeat as the league's offensive player of the year. Peyton Dostie was the last to repeat in 2013 and 2014 for the Southern Maine Huskies. Smith currently holds every single season and career scoring record at Keene State College. Smith guided the Owls offensive prowess, leading the nation in scoring among all NCAA Division III individuals. Smith averaged 1.60 goals per game and 3.70 points per game, both best in the nation. Smith finished her historic 2016 campaign leading the league with 33 goals, 13 assists and 79 points. Smith was named LEC Offensive Player of the Week four times this season (9/5, 9/12, 10/3, 10/10).

The Defensive Player of the Year for the 2016 season is Keene State's defender Marita Brothers (Stafford Springs, Conn.). Brothers finished the 2016 season with career high eight Defensive Saves (18 in career). Brothers started all 22 games for the Owls this season, finding the goal twice and assisted on nine. Brothers anchored the Owls' defense, which gave up a total of 28 goals for a 1.27 goals against average. Brothers was named LEC Defensive Player of the Week twice (9/12 and 10/17) this season.

The 2016 Little East Conference Rookie of the Year is Olivia Antonelli (Westford, Mass.) from Worcester State. Antonelli was named the LEC Rookie of the Week three times this season (9/12, 9/19, 10/3). Antonelli helped the Lancers reach new heights in 2016, winning 13 games (the most since 2002), including a 9-2 LEC record. Antonelli led the Lancers with 13 goals scored and finished second on the team with 30 total points. 

The LEC coaches selected Worcester State's Interim Head Coach Alexa Carlson as Coach of the Year for the 2016 season. Carlson was named interim in August and led the Lancers to 13 victories, which are the most wins for the program since they finished 13-9 in 2002.

The Little East Conference compiles three All-Conference teams as voted on by the field hockey head coaches from our 12 institutions. The teams are comprised of four forwards, three midfielders, three defenders and concludes with one goalkeeper.

2016 Offensive Player of the Year

Sami Smith
Keene State College 

2016 Defensive Player of the Year

Marita Brothers
Keene State College

2016 Rookie of the Year

Olivia Antonelli
Worcester State

2016 Coach of the Year

Alexa Carlson
Worcester State

2016 Little East Conference | First Team All-Conference     
Forward Sami Smith Keene State College
Forward Holly Brouillette Westfield State
Forward Brittany Cullinane Bridgewater State
Forward Nicole Burgess Plymouth State
Midfielder Brittney Cardente Keene State College
Midfielder Meg Doherty Westfield State
Midfielder Kayla Renaud Keene State College
Defender Marita Brothers Keene State College
Defender Hayley Sutherland Worcester State
Defender Alexa Whitney Westfield State
Goalkeeper Megan Fountaine Westfield State









2016 Little East Conference | Second Team All-Conference

Forward Molly Richard Fitchburg State
Forward Olivia Antonelli Worcester State
Forward Erica Stauffer Keene State College
Forward Michaila Parent Worcester State
Midfielder Maddie Hoffman Fitchburg State
Midfielder Katie Martin Plymouth State
Midfielder Meghan Pini Worcester State
Defender Maddy Beatrice Plymouth State
Defender Hunter Carden UMass Dartmouth
Defender Nicole Fors Fitchburg State
Goalkeeper Kathryn Salemme Worcester State










2016 Little East Conference | Third Team All-Conference

Forward Jensyn Dandeneau Keene State College
Forward Erin Morrissey Fitchburg State
Forward Tayla Smedberg Fitchburg State
Forward Alex Kallgren Eastern Connecticut State
Midfielder Kayla Quinn Worcester State
Midfielder Samantha Hayes Bridgewater State
Midfielder Michaela Demers Southern Maine
Defender Katherine McKenna Bridgewater State
Defender Delaney Gembis Westfield State
Defender Rachel Bunce Westfield State
Goalkeeper Gwendolyn Thayer Keene State College